My favorite quilt

I just read Sew Mama Sews blog and read about posting about my favorite quilt, so I thought I would share mine. 🙂

http://www.sewmamasew.com/2014/06/my-favorite-quilt-heidi-staples-of-fabric-mutt/#!prettyPhoto

I started quilting in 1994.

When did you make it?
I made this quilt in 1996.

What pattern did you use?
I believe it was a pattern in Harriet Hargrave’s Machine Quilting book.

What fabrics?
Various plaids and I remember looking at a lot of quilt shops to find just the right mottled light tan! LOL

Have your shown it at any quilt shows or entered it in any contests?
No, I haven’t.

What memories or people does the quilt make you think of?
I originally planned to give this quilt to my brother and his new wife for a wedding gift. I always think of him when I look at this quilt. Because I ended up keeping it for myself!

What do you like best about the quilt?
I love all the machine quilting I did on this quilt. I hand drew the feather, made a stencil and drew it on every single half square triangle. I actually kept track of how long it took to do just the machine quilting and it was 40 hours.

How did you grow as a quilter while making it?
My machine quilting improved tremendously! I truly enjoyed every part of making this quilt.

My favorite quilt

My favorite quilt

imageimage

If you could make this quilt again, what (if anything) would you do differently? I honestly wouldn’t change a thing.

Where is the quilt now?
It sits on the back of my favorite chair. 🙂

About redcabinquilter

I currently live in Newaygo, MI with my wonderful husband and two furry boys. Quilting is my passion in life (along with my hubby) :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My favorite quilt

  1. Christa says:

    It’s a beautiful quilt and the quilting is divine!

  2. charlotte m. says:

    What a lovely quilt and I agree, the quilting is divine! Thank you for sharing it.

  3. Tina says:

    The quilting is wonderful!

  4. wendy says:

    lovely quilt, such a great pattern! So much work went into that quilting, it’s fabulous

  5. PatSloan says:

    i can see why it’s your favorite, this is a splendid quilt!! I shared my favorite quilt at http://blog.patsloan.com/2014/06/pat-sloan-my-favorite-quilt-.html

  6. This is gorgeous! I have to laugh too! I made my brother a quilt when I first started quilting (almost my ‘favorite’…but not quite) and I have to admit – it’s still on my bed today! I finally did make him a quilt last year though…but he had to wait awhile!

Leave a Reply

