Sloppy Saturday

It’s been raining this morning and is supposed to continue until tomorrow night. All the snow is melting along with it. Letting the dogs out in the backyard is like letting them in a giant mud pit! Not fun when they want to come back in!

I got the bed topper machine quilted and finished binding it this morning.

Bed topper

Here is a close up, just did meandering on it.

Bed topper close up

So, I decided to try 3 oz poly batting, what a pain!!

I got half the length done and turned it over to find the backing had accordianed about 18 inches long! Rip rip rip, did it over. Then I’m being super careful with the rest of it and it happened again! Only a very small section….but still! I spray basted and pinned. That was the first time I tried straight poly batting and will be the last for me! Now, what in the world am I going to do with the other 30 yards of it?! I bought a giant roll and cut it down so I could store it. It’s 120 inch wide. I put it in space bags so it doesn’t take up anywhere near as much room. Looks like I’m going to have to find somewhere to donate it to. If anyone knows someplace, please let me know. I’ll send it to an individual for the cost of shipping!

I have used cotton/poly blend a lot and love that, but straight poly, no way! I’ve used Quilter’s Dream poly, much lower loft and love it. Oh well, lesson learned!

About redcabinquilter

I currently live in Newaygo, MI with my wonderful husband and two furry boys. Quilting is my passion in life (along with my hubby) :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

